from the heart...

Posted By: adventbeliever

from the heart... - 05/26/02 10:18 PM

What I am going to share is not merely for the sake of starting another thread. It comes straight from the heart. I have been professing to be a Christian for twenty-five years or so. I have longed for the coming of Christ. At this time in my life, more than ever before, I am ready to confess how wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked I am, not only because the Lord says so, but because He has shown me to a degree how utterly helpless human nature is if left to itself. I long for the latter rain to fall upon God's people, for the work here on earth to be finished, and to see Jesus coming in the clouds of heaven and to be caught up with Him in the air and be with Him for ever and ever!

Much is said about what the Gospel is and what it is not, but one thing we may be sure of is that without the Spirit of Christ, to help our infirmities, we cannot form a Christian character!

And unless we form a Christian character we can not enter the kingdom of Heaven!

Something else we should all agree on is that the only way for us to have the Holy Spirit, to form a Christian character, is through faith and through faith only!

"Jesus is our propitiation through faith in His blood." Rom.3:25. Faith in His blood! Yes. That means trusting wholly in the meritorious blood that was shed.

"Looking unto Jesus and trusting in His merits we appropriate the blessings of light and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit." 5 T 744.

Is not that last statement plain and clear? Thank God it is! And the gift of the Holy Spirit brings all other blessings in its train! A.A.50; D.A.672.

Pray that the Lord will increase our faith in the merits of the blood that is of value beyond estimate for it is our only hope to receive the gift of the Spirit which accomplishes everything!

God bless!